4 Comments

I have a teaching offer from a school that is not spelled out. The Head of School said essentially to "write my ticket" and they would "see what they could do." The school's mission and the various roles we discussed suit my mindset and my background swimmingly. However, I know from my background research that they cannot pay very much. I would like to continue consulting and work for the school half-time/part-time. I have a figure in my head based on my budget that I would be satisfied with for doing the roles we discussed in a part-time fashion.

How do I present this to the Head of School in a way that shows I am mission-aligned but that does not put me in a position to have my time taken for granted? How do I "write my ticket" without appearing too demanding?

Expand full comment

I have a question, might a bit too "inside baseball", though.

1. At Harvard, for many years, Tom Schelling taught the course: Conflict, Cooperation and Strategy. (Later it was turned into a book by Robert Dodge, with Schelling writing the forward.)

2. But, on the PON teaching site, I cannot find a single negotiation exercise which might articulate some of Schelling's views on negotiation. (This despite him being referenced in the beginning of The Manager as Negotiator as a brilliant negotiator, with an example from Schelling's advice on how to handle a tricky IP negotiation.)

You have been at PON, almost since the beginning. So, who would know why there are no negotiation exercises demonstrating Schelling's ideas on: threats, promises, and commitments, for example.

Thanks.

Michael (Mike) Webster

Expand full comment

Saw these quotes from Schelling on Goodreads. I wonder who posted them. :) They demonstrate an intellect and a concise 'non-business-school' style that are rare in the literature and commentary of negotiation. https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/19044434-michael-webster

Expand full comment

I would also like to know why the late Tom Schelling's ideas, and the name of the man himself, are less than prominent. After all, Mike Wheeler might agree that Schelling is by far the most brilliant thinker and practitioner ever associated with the field of negotiation at Harvard.

Expand full comment